Thanksgiving Blessings 2014 – Dr. Maxine Thompson

maxine_thompson

This Thanksgiving I have a lot to be grateful for. First, I thank God for the legacy handed down to me from my mother, my grandmother, and my great-grandmother, and that is the Black woman’s ability  to hold families together during  recessions, during Depressions,  and even during  the slavery era. Those were some STRONG Black women back then. I aspire to be just like them.

I’m grateful for my family, my adult children, my grandchildren, my great-grandchild, and for good life-long friends.

I’m grateful for a happy life, which includes being selfishly-employed as a writer, an editor, and an agent.  I’m grateful I was able to leave my social work job in 1997 and pursue my dream, which wound up being greater than what I had in mind.  What God had for me was much larger than I ever envisioned for myself, such as my Internet Radio Show on www.artistfirst.com going on 10 ½ years, (plus 2 previous additional years hosting with another Internet site.) I still have new things I’d like to do, (such as producing an Independent film, Hollywood Blues,)  but, I’m waiting to see what else God has in line for me.

I’m grateful for the wide array of interesting writers I’ve been blessed to edit/represent/ write for as a ghostwriter, or write with in anthologies over the last 14 years.  I’m grateful that I’m able to do the prison ministry because of the Internet. One incarcerated writer whom I edited just made the Amazon bestseller list!

I now see this as a calling so I’m grateful that I pray more often and more deeply than ever before.  I thank God that I am able to do intercessions for my loved ones in a way I wasn’t able to do when I was younger. Now I am the older generation in my family and I thank God I lived to see this day.

I love getting older! The Best is Yet to Be!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone and God Bless!

ABOUT MAXINE THOMPSON

Book Titles: The Ebony Tree, No Pockets in a Shroud, A Place Called Home

Anthologies: All in the Family, Secret Lovers, Never Knew Love Like this Before, Saturday Morning (editor and contributor), Proverbs for the People.

Nonfiction/Fiction ebooks: The Hush Hush Secrets of Writing Fiction that Sells, The Hush Hush Secrets of Making Money as a Writer, the Hush Hush Secrets of Creating a Life You Love,  Novella, Capri’s Second Chance,  Upcoming, The Hush Hush Secrets of Writing Fiction that Sells Part II.

Find Maxine online at:

Leave a Reply

