Thankful for Memories – Marcena Hooks

10

Thanksgiving 2014 will be very different for me. It will be the first one without my mother, who passed away this past April. Lord knows I miss her dearly, especially her delicious cooking during this time of year. However, I am still thankful for those memories.

There is so much to be thankful for this year, and everyday God gives me a chance at life. My cousin tagged me on Facebook to a seven-day thankful challenge. Normally, I don’t participate, but this year I was happy to oblige. I’ll share some of those posts here. I am thankful that I am a housewife/homemaker/housemom/taxi-driving pastor’s wife; thankful that I am in grad school even though it’s challenging; thankful for positive beginnings; thankful for being saved; thankful for my husband and children who keep me laughing; and thankful for memories of mama.

I am also thankful God carried my pastor-husband, two kids and I from Oklahoma to California almost two years ago. I am thankful for our new church family. I am blessed to be a contributing author in The Motherhood Diaries and The Motherhood Diaries 2 by ReShonda Tate Billingsley and Brown Girls Publishing. I am thankful to start my writing dreams as a graduate student. Most of all, I am thankful for life, health, and strength; God’s goodness; and pleasant memories of mama!

Marcena Hooks is a married mother of two young children and resides in the Los Angeles area. Her husband is the pastor of New Hope Baptist Church of Los Angeles where they both serve in ministry. She is an aspiring author working on her Master’s degree in Creative Writing at Antioch University. Marcena’s titles in The Motherhood Diaries anthologies are “Diary of a Working Mom (The Balancing Act)” and “Diary of a Mom Who Laughs a Lot.” http://browngirlspublishing.com . She can be reached via email at marcenac@yahoo.com and on Twitter @marcenahooks.

 

Leave a Reply

