Writing Sensation August 2017 – Rekaya Gibson

Welcome to my blog site! I want you to know that I appreciate all of your comments, and please keep them coming in!

I have a question. Have you ever met someone and felt like you had known the person for years? Well, this is how I felt after I met Rekaya Gibson. We met about nine years ago after we signed our first book deals with the same publisher, Xpress Yourself Publishing. While on the literary trail, we have stayed in touch, and I am honored to feature Rekaya as my guest author today.

 

REKAYA GIBSON

Author, Writer, Blogger, Podcaster

Biography

Rekaya Gibson has penned six books including a young adult, Mama Don’t Like Ugly, and a cookbook, Cooking on a Dollar Store Budget. She has contributed content for Amtrak, Writer’s Digest Books, and various lifestyle magazines. Currently, she maintains a food blog based on her first fiction novel, The Food Temptress; and contributes content regularly to Cuisine Noir Magazine. When Rekaya is not freelance writing, she is talking sports on her weekly podcast, Black Girls Talk Sports, or exploring Virginia’s 200+ wineries. For more information about this author, go to www.rekayagibson.com.

 

Stay Connected:

Twitter: @RekayaGibson

Facebook: AuthorRekayaGibson

Facebook: thefoodtemptress

Instagram: the_food_temptress

 

PB: Tell us about The Food Temptress, 2nd Edition?

RG: This magical realism story is about Ambrosia Bourgeois, the New Orleans Goddess of Gastronomy, who uses food to seduce men in hopes of concocting Mr. Right. Paralleling Southern cuisine, each chapter captures the hearts, minds, and even the bodies of various men. Ambrosia tries to perfect her craft by using traditional recipes from her deceased grandmother, while occasionally consulting her eccentric elderly aunt. When she discovers that her meals fall short of converting each man to her calculated preference, she moves on to the next one–a total of sixteen. Her subjects range from a local sheriff to a Bourbon Street musician. Will she reach her goal of complete succulent seduction before the monstrous hurricane hits her city? The Food Temptress offers countless delectable treats illustrated through Ambrosia’s continual quest for both romantic and culinary perfection.

PB: How did you come up with the idea for The Food Temptress?

RG: I developed the concept from the adage, “a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.”  I took my interpretation and expanded upon it, using my creativity.

PB: What does Ambrosia’s name mean?

RG: “Ambrosia” comes from Greek mythology meaning food or drink of the Greek gods.

PB: What made you decide to release a second edition of The Food Temptress? When was the first one published?

RG: I wanted to repackage The Food Temptress and release it under my own publishing company. This version went through revisions and I provided additional content. I hired a graphic designer and she developed an awesome book cover. I’m proud of the second edition. The first one will always be my baby and I’m forever grateful to my publisher, Xpress Yourself Publishing Company.

PB: What do you have in common with Ambrosia?

RG: We are both home cooks with no formal training.

PB: You have a blog with the same title as The Food Temptress. Tell us about it.

RG: In 2009, I started blogging under the same alias to keep readers engaged. I wrote about relationships, dating, food, recipes, and book news. Readers started referring to me as The Food Temptress, and they wanted more information about cooking and recipes with cool photos. In 2014, I decided to make The Food Temptress Blog exclusively about food, which included recipes, reviews on food-related products, and a food holiday calendar.

PB: Where can readers find The Food Temptress?

RG: Readers can order it at national booksellers such as Barnes and Noble. Find it online at Amazon and BarnesandNoble.com or request it at their local libraries. The Food Temptress is available in paperback and eBook.

PB: What’s next for Rekaya Gibson?

RG: I’m promoting the release of The Food Temptress and conducting several book signings throughout the Hampton Roads (Virginia) area. In addition, I’m working on a nonfiction book, “100 Writing Prompts Inspired by Social Media” that will come out this year.

 

One thought on “Writing Sensation August 2017 – Rekaya Gibson

  1. Hello everyone! I hope you enjoy the interview. If you have any questions about writing and publishing, please ask. I appreciate the love Patricia. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

